shortterm12sxsw SXSW Film Festival Announces Audience AwardsToday is the final day of the 2013 South by SouthWest Film Conference and Festival and it comes to a close with the announcement of the audience awards for the 20th annual Austin film fest.

Earlier this week, Destin Daniel Crettons Short Term 12 won the Jury Award for Narrative Feature and it followed that up by also taking the Audience Award in the Narrative Feature category. The movie stars Brie Larson as the supervisor at a foster care home for teenagers who bonds with a new girl at the facility that helps her get over her own troubled past.

E.L. Katz’s gory thriller Cheap Thrills, one of the few movies that received distribution out of the festival, picked up early by Drafthouse Films, won the Audience Award in the Midnighters section. Music docs A Band Called Death and The Punk Syndrome also received audience awards in the “24 Beats Per Second” and “SXGlobal” categories.

You can read the full press release and list of audience award winners below. If you happen to be in Austin, most of the winners will have additional screenings today.

Austin, Texas March 16, 2013 The South by Southwest (SXSW) Film Conference and Festival announced Audience Award-winners today from the Narrative Feature Competition, Documentary Feature Competition, Narrative Spotlight, Documentary Spotlight, Emerging Visions, Midnighters, 24 Beats Per Second, SXGlobal, Festival Favorites and Design Award categories. Audience Award results for all categories were certified by the accounting firm of Maxwell Locke & Ritter.

The Audience Awards follow the previously announced 2013 Jury Awards, which included Grand Jury Winners Destin Daniel Crettons Short Term 12 for Narrative Feature, and Ben Nabors WILLIAM AND THE WINDMILL for Documentary Feature. For the complete list of 2013 Award Winners, visit

The 2013 SXSW Film Festival hosted a total of 133 features, consisting of 78 World Premieres, 13 North American Premieres and 9 U.S. Premieres, with 76 first-time directors. 110 shorts will screen as part of 10 overall shorts programs. The nearly 250 films were selected from a record number of overall submissions, over 5,700, comprised of approximately 2,100 features and 3,600 shorts, with an overall increase of 7% over 2012.

2013 SXSW Film Festival Audience Award Winners:


Winner: Short Term 12

Director: Destin Daniel Cretton


Winner: The Short Game

Director: Josh Greenbaum


Winner: An Unreal Dream: The Michael Morton Story

Director: Al Reinert


Winner: Zero Charisma

Directors: Katie Graham & Andrew Matthews


Winner: Maidentrip

Director: Jillian Schlesinger


Winner: Cheap Thrills

Director: E.L. Katz


Winner: A Band Called Death

Directors: Mark Christopher Covino & Jeff Howlett


Winner: The Punk Syndrome

Directors: Jukka Krkkinen & J-P Passi


Winner: The Crash Reel

Director: Lucy Walker

SXSW Film Design Awards


Audience Award Winner: Kiss of the Damned

Designer: Akiko Stehrenberger, Gravillis Inc


Audience Award Winner: Chasing Shakespeare

Designer: Lucky Post

google SXSW Film Festival Announces Audience Awardstwitter SXSW Film Festival Announces Audience Awardsfacebook SXSW Film Festival Announces Audience Awardsstumbleupon SXSW Film Festival Announces Audience Awardstumblr SXSW Film Festival Announces Audience Awardsreddit SXSW Film Festival Announces Audience Awardsbuffer SXSW Film Festival Announces Audience Awardsdiggit SXSW Film Festival Announces Audience Awardslinkedin SXSW Film Festival Announces Audience Awardspinterest SXSW Film Festival Announces Audience Awards

« »