Connect with us

Movies News

‘Nomadland,’ ‘The Queen’s Gambit’ Win Scripter Awards for

“Nomadland” was named the very best display screen adaptation of a printed work on the 33rd annual USC Libraries Scripter Awards, which came about in a web-based ceremony on Saturday evening in lieu of the standard black-tie ceremony on the USC campus.

“The Queen’s Gambit” gained the award for finest TV adaptation.

The Scripter Award goes to the creator of the unique work on which a movie or tv present relies, and the screenwriter answerable for the difference. For “Nomadland,” writer-director Chloe Zhao gained the award together with Jessica Bruder, who wrote the nonfiction guide “Nomadland: Surviving America in the Twenty-First Century.” For “The Queen’s Gambit,” screenwriter and director Scott Frank gained the award together with the late novelist Will Tevis, who wrote the novel on which the restricted collection was primarily based.

The winners (and nominees) have been chosen by a committee of 52 writers, producers, journalists and different trade professionals and teachers chaired by screenwriter Howard Rodman.

The Scripter Award was launched in 1988 as a considerably idiosyncratic award with a literary bent, however over time it has grow to be a significantly better Oscar predictor. In its first 19 years, the Scripter winner went on to win the Oscar for Best Adapted Screenplay solely 4 instances – however within the 13 years since then, it has gained 10 instances, together with eight matches in a row from 2010 to 2017.

The final two years, although, the Scripter and the Oscar haven’t agreed, with the previous award going to “Leave No Trace” and “Little Women” and the latter to “BlacKkKlansman” and “Jojo Rabbit.”

Sourced from

Continue Reading
Advertisement Sponsored
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *