Connect with us

Movies News

‘Trial of the Chicago 7’ Wins Top Prize at American Cinema

“The Trial of the Chicago 7” and “Palm Springs” have been named the best-edited movies of 2020 by the American Cinema Editors, whose 71st annual ACE Eddie Awards came about in a digital ceremony on Saturday afternoon.

“Chicago 7,” which is nominated for the film-editing Oscar together with “The Father,” “Nomadland,” “Promising Young Woman” and “Sound of Metal,” gained within the Best Edited Feature Film (Dramatic) class. “Palm Springs” gained within the comedy class.

Since 2000, when ACE splits its movie award into separate drama and comedy classes, one among its winners has gone on to win the Oscar for Best Film Editing 15 occasions in 21 years. All however a type of wins have come within the drama class.

“Soul” gained the award for animated movie, whereas “My Octopus Teacher” took the prize within the documentary class.

In the tv classes, winners included “Schitt’s Creek,” “Ted Lasso,” “Better Call Saul,” “Ozark” and “The Queen’s Gambit.” “The Last Dance” gained for a non-theatrical documentary, whereas “David Byrne’s American Utopia” gained for selection particular.

Also on the ceremony, Spike Lee acquired the ACE Golden Eddie Filmmaker of the Year Award and movie editors Lynzee Klingman and Sidney Wolinsky acquired Career Achievement Awards.

The digital ceremony was hosted by the solid of “Zoey’s Extraordinary Playlist,” with presenters together with Riz Ahmed, Jodie Foster, Carey Mulligan, Leslie Odom Jr. and Aaron Sorkin.

The winners:

Best Edited Feature Film (Dramatic): “The Trial of Chicago 7,” Alan Baumgarten, ACE
Best Edited Feature Film (Comedy): “Palm Springs,” Matthew Friedman, ACE and Andrew Dickler
Best Edited Animated Feature Film: “Soul,” Kevin Nolting, ACE
Best Edited Documentary (Feature): “My Octopus Teacher,” Pippa Ehrlich, Dan Schwalm
Best Edited Documentary (Non-Theatrical): “The Last Dance” – “Episode I,” Chad Beck, ACE, Devin Concannon, Abhay Sofsky, Ben Sozanski, ACE
Best Edited Comedy Series for Commercial Television: “Schitt’s Creek” – “Happy Ending,” Trevor Ambrose, CCE
Best Edited Comedy Series for Non-Commercial Television: “Ted Lasso” – “Make Rebecca Great Again,” Melissa McCoy
Best Edited Drama Series for Commercial Television: “Better Call Saul” – “Bad Choice Road,” Chris McCaleb, ACE, Joey Liew
Best Edited Drama Series for Non-Commercial Television: “Ozark” – “Wartime,” Cindy Mollo, ACE
Best Edited Limited Series or Motion Picture: “The Queen’s Gambit” – “Exchanges,” Michelle Tesoro, ACE
Best Edited Non-Scripted Series: “Cheer” – “God Blessed Texas,” Kate Hackett, Arielle Kilker, Daniel McDonald, Mark Morgan, David Nordstrom, Sharon Weaver, Ted Woerner
Best Edited Variety Talk/Sketch Show or Special: “David Byrne’s American Utopia,” Adam Gough, ACE
Best Edited Animation (Non-Theatrical): “Rick and Morty” – “Rattlestar Ricklactica,” Lee Harting
Anne V. Coates Award for Student Editing: Samuel Bailey – University of North Carolina School of the Arts

Sourced from

Continue Reading
Advertisement Sponsored
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *