Connect with us

Movies News

2017 Rock and Roll Hall of Fame Inductee Nominations Announced: Janet Jackson, Tupac and Pearl …

The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame has released its list of nominees for induction in 2017—meaning it’s time once again for rejoicing that some of the world’s most meaningful artists are finally (or once again) getting their chance to be honored, while also lamenting that others continue to be overlooked.

In their first year of eligibility, Pearl Jam and the late Tupac Shakur have been nominated, along with Janet Jackson, Joan Baez, Depeche Mode, Chaka Khan, Electric Light Orchestra, Jane’s Addiction, J. Geils Band, Journey, The Cars, Yes, The Zombies, The Bad Brains, Steppenwolf, MC5, Kraftwerk, Joe Tex and Chic

Not a bad bunch.

According to the official Hall of Fame rules, an artist must have released their first single at least 25 years prior to being nominated—meaning that this year’s nominees released their first singles no later than 1991.

That’s right, Eddie Vedder declared he was still “Alive” 25 years ago.

While history dictates that the decision of who makes it into the Hall is made by 800 various music professionals who vote on an artist’s longevity, influence and talent, this year fans can once again join in on the fun and vote for their favorite artists.

Today through Dec. 5, fans can log on to the Hall’s website and cast their vote once per day to help their favorite win.

The inductees will be announced in late December, with an induction ceremony to follow in April 2017 at the Barclay’s Center in New York.

Source link

Continue Reading
Advertisement Sponsored
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *